Let me introduce myself

Standard

My name is Jane Zelikova and along with Jenny Stynoski, an amazing TA Rolando, and a big and wonderful group of visiting professors, I will be coordinating the winter OTS grad course. Getting the chance to coordinate this course is amazing opportunity for many reasons, not least of all is that I am a course alum (2003 Summer course – shout out to all my peeps!) and leading this course after taking it 10 years ago seems like the universe bringing it all back together. In the 10 years since my course, life has taken many twists and turns, but my experience with OTS was transformative in both my academic and personal life. The friends I met that summer are still important in my life today and the connections I made have opened new research doors in a way that nothing else can. OTS alums are everywhere and they are the most enthusiastic and wonderful collaborators you will ever meet!

OTS 2003-3

Introduction to Tropical Ecology summer grad course, circa 2003. I’m somewhere in the middle, looking excited and proud, and slightly bewildered

So how did I go from a budding young tropical ecologist to where I am today – a not-so-young postdoctoral researcher at the University of Wyoming? My winding path included a few years of working on ant community ecology in Costa Rica, a jump back onto US soil to continue working on ants, but now in southeastern deciduous forest ecosystems, and then an almost complete and abrupt shift. When I got my PhD from the University of Colorado, I realized that somewhere in the 6 years I spent in graduate school, my research interested shifted. It came as a small surprise to me, but I wanted to study soils! I left the world of ants begrudgingly behind and started working in beautiful Canyonlands UT and thinking about climate change, biological soil crusts, biogeochemistry, and plants. Growing up as a scientist meant learning new tools (plant physiology, biogeochemistry), asking new questions, and stretching my mind to think from a different perspective. Exciting, wonderful, and terrifying.

P1030049

Field work in Utah, looking at how removing livestock grazing impacts soil and plant carbon storage

P1030041

Collecting soil outside of Moab UT

DSCN1803

Digging up leaf cutter ant nests in La Selva to understand how ants and their nests influence biogeochemical cycles in tropical ecosystems

That’s basically where I find myself today, once again shifting to learn new things, ask new questions, re-address old questions from a new angle, and hopefully, continuing to evolve. As your course coordinator, I bring with me a few key things:

1) My passion for science

2) A sharpie (one of the most important tools every ecologist needs)

3) My knowledge and background in community ecology, biogeochemistry, plant ecology, and tropical experience

4) An open ear – I’m here as a sounding board for whatever you need

Countdown to course start 23 days! I’m ready!

Leave a Reply

